GreenCupcake

Green Matcha Coco-Nuts Cupcake.

One of my all time favourite super foods is Matcha! Matcha is filled with antioxidants, packed with Vitamin C, Zinc and Magnesium. It is also a powerful dextoxifier that boosts your metabolism and burns tons of calories. Going along with my theme the “Green Cupcake” it was only right that my first recipe be a GREEN cupcake. This was easier said than done! I did a number of trial runs to get this recipe perfect. I finally got the approval of my testing panel- My niece Gabrielle 5 year old princess who dreams of unicorns, and her little brother Nathaniel who to him everything is gross and disgusting. Tough crowd! I figured I had to make a Green cupcake look as good as it tastes. Mission accomplished, they enjoyed them and even wanted seconds.

The cupcakes are Green fluffy, moist and naturally sweet! The topping of shredded coconut is just as good as sprinkles. I am so excited about these Green Cupcakes and could not wait to share the recipe. The preparation time for the these amazing cupcakes is 20 mins. I could easily be prepped ahead of time to cut the time in half.

*TIPS* pre-shred coconut and store ahead of time & leave butter out at room temperature to soften.

Here’s what you will need. You can use a stand-mixer, or hand mixer.

  • Prep | 20 mins
  • Cook | 35 mins
  • Ready in | 55 mins
  • Duration | 4 days
  • Recipe makes 12 medium cupcakes.

Step 1:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Mix flour, baking soda and salt in medium bowl. Set aside.

In a mixer soften butter and sugar.

Step 2:

Let mix on medium speed for 5 mins. Add eggs, Slowy add banana, coconut and Vanilla extract. Add dry ingredients. Mix on medium until everything is well combined.

Step 3:

Add matcha powder and food coloring to get desired color. Pour into Cupcake molds. Bake for 30 mins.

Step 4:

Insert a toothpick inserted into cupcake comes out clean. Cool in pans on wire rack 5 minutes. Remove from pans; cool completely. Use shredded Coconut to decorate cupcake.

I made a recipe card for these amazing cupcakes see below. I am working on a Dairy-free frosting that I will add to this cupcake. I think with or without the frosting these cupcakes meet anyones sweet tooth cravings.

Enjoy your Cupcakes and Have a Green Day 🙂


Leave a comment